Winton, Stewart Claim Glenwood School Board Seats

Tony Winton

Kellie Stewart

Tony Winton and Kellie Stewart have won seats on the Glenwood Community School District Board of Education.

Winton and Stewart received the most votes among five candidates for two at-large positions on the board. Winton picked up 822 votes while Stewart received 760 votes. William Bruce Wray finished in third place with 723 votes, while Eva Krueger, the lone incumbent on the board after being appointed earlier this year for a vacant position, was fourth with 431 votes. William Painter received 345 votes.

Stewart, 45, is a Missouri native who works as a Medicare investigator and has three children in the district. Winton, 59, is an Indiana native and military veteran employed as a computer systems manager.

Glenwood Superintendent Devin Embray sent congratulatory emails to both Stewart and Winton on the morning after the election.

“I’m excited for them to be joining the board,” he said. “We want to get them on-board as quickly as possible the next few weeks. I’m excited for them to want to take the journey of being on what I call ‘the thankless job of being on a voluntary board.’ I wish them all the best coming on and I thank them for running and being passionate about what we do.”

Both Stewart and Winton will be sworn in at a board meeting on Nov. 27, after a final canvas of votes has been completed.

In the East Mills School District, Mark Stearns was the top vote-getter in District 1 and Trent Jones won District 2. Both were unopposed. In the contested race for an at-large seat, Dana Carter topped the field with 143 votes.

East Mills voters also voted to approve a renewal of the district’s 10-year Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL) not to exceed $1.34 per $1,000 of taxable valuations.

With three seats up in the Fremont-Mills School District, Shannon Smith won District 1, Kelli Perrin won District 3 and in District 4, Kristin Williams and Jessica Prazan were deadlocked with 12 votes at poll closing.

In Glenwood city elections, incumbent Ron Kohn was re-elected as Mayor. In the Glenwood City Council races, unopposed Christina Duran won one at-large seat while unopposed Donald L. Kates won Ward 2. No candidates were on the ballot for Ward 1, currently held by Jeremy Rodman, but 34 write-in votes were cast for the seat. Natalie McEwen received the most write-in votes, with 8, and has accepted the position.

A measure on the ballot in Glenwood that would put a 7 percent tax on hotels and motels was passed 499 to 263. The tax is identical to one passed earlier this year for unincorporated areas of the county.

In Pacific Junction, Mayor Andy Young retained his position, with Terry L. Parham, Len Nielan, Dianna Irick, Matthew Fritz and Jamie Williams elected to the city council. Fritz and Williams were eleceted as write-ins.

Sharon McNutt was elected mayor in Silver City after being unopposed. In the city council race, Ron Damewood, Lynda Thomas and Rose Mary Schoening were the top three voter-getters.

In Malvern, Douglas R. Shere, who ran unopposed, won the mayoral election whole Roger Allen Johnson and Bryant Rasmussen earned the top spots in voting for the two at-large spots on the city council.

Larry R. Johnson won the mayoral race in Emerson. Robert E. Huntsman, James L. Skalberg and Dylan Spencer were top three voters-getters on the Emerson City Council, where three seats were up for grabs.
In Hastings, Ryan Campbell was elected mayor with 4 write-in votes. Eva Hall and write-in candidates Anthony Rasco, Terri Rasco and Troy Hatcher were also elected. A tie-breaking procedure will determine the fifth seat among six candidates that received votes. Jesse Jones was elected city treasurer for Hastings.

Joel Tomford was elected mayor in Henderson with James Stone, Janelle Williams and Toni L. Casson winning seats on the city council.

The Opinion-Tribune

116 S Walnut St Glenwood, IA 51534-1665
P.O. Box 377, Red Oak, IA 51566
Phone: 712-527-3191
Phone: 712-623-2566
Fax: 712-527-3193

Comment Here