Knights, Wolverines well represented on All-Corner teams

Jackson Embree helped lead East Mills to a Corner Conference championship this season, averaging 12.6 points per game.

East Mills and Fremont-Mills combined for four first team selections on the All-Corner Conference Basketball first team released last week.

Conference champion East Mills had two first team selections on the boys first team in Jackson Embree and Layne Mastin.

Embree and Mastin were joined on the first team by Stanton’s Nolan Grebin and Evan Gettler, Essex’s Tony Racine, Griswold’s Bode Wyman and Michael Hensley of Sidney

Embree led the Wolverines in scoring with 12.6 points per game and Mastin chipped in 12 points and 7.3 rebounds per game.

Grebin was the lone unanimous first team selection on the boys side after leading the conference in scoring (18.6 points per game) and sharing the lead in assists with teammate and fellow first teamer Gettler.

Girls conference champion Fremont-Mills and Stanton each had two first team selections on the girls squad.

The Knights’ Elle Thornton was tabbed for the first team after leading the Fremont-Mills girls in scoring (13.4) and rebounding (6.4). Teammate Izzy Weldon averaged 12.3 points per game while leading the team in assists (3.9) and three-pointers (51).

Sandin was second in the conference with 15.3 points per game while Olson scored 15.2 points per game and grabbed 7.4 rebounds per game.

Sidney’s Lilly Peters and Essex’s Brooke Burns were also named to the first team. Peters led the conference with 12.1 rebounds per game and Burns led the league in scoring at 15.4 points per game.

East Mills’ Kyler Williams and Zach Thornburg along with Sawyer Forney and Logan Jahnke of Fremont-Mills earned second team nods. On the girls side, Fremont-Mills’ Ryleigh Ewalt and Bella Gute and East Mills’ Miah Goodman and Jenna Thornburg were second team selections.

2023-2024 All-Corner Conference
Basketball Teams

First Team
Izzy Weldon and Ella Thornton, Fremont-Mills. Lilly Peters, Sidney. Leah Sandin and Hannah Olson, Stanton. Brooke Burns, Essex.

Second Team
Lauren Johnson, Stanton. Ryleigh Ewalt and Bella Gute, Fremont-Mills; Miah Goodman and Jenna Thornburg, East Mills. Karly Millikan, Hamburg.

Honorable Mention
Tori Burns and Cindy Swain, Essex. Loycee Palmer, East Mills. Addison Adams, Griswold. Kyla Hart, Stanton. Addyson Foster, Sidney. Ellie Switzer, Fremont-Mills.

First Team

Nolan Grebin and Evan Gettler, Stanton. Jackson Embree and Layne Mastin, East Mills. Tony Racine, Essex. Bode Wyman, Griswold. Michael Hensley, Sidney.

Second Team
Kyler Williams and Zach Thornburg, East Mills. Sawyer Forney and Logan Jahnke, Fremont-Mills. Logan French, Stanton. Peyton Good, Griswold. Keith Thompson, Hamburg.

Honorable Mention
Gavin Ford, Stanton. Lincoln Palmer, East Mills. Hogan Hook, Griswold. Isaiah Sholes and Kade Peeler, Essex. Braedon Godfread and Kolt Payne, Sidney.


The Opinion-Tribune

116 S Walnut St Glenwood, IA 51534-1665
P.O. Box 377, Red Oak, IA 51566
Phone: 712-527-3191
Phone: 712-623-2566
Fax: 712-527-3193

Comment Here